Foundation of the Banach Center and its 30-year history

On January 13, 1972, an agreement was signed in Warsaw by the Academies of Sciences of Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia, East Germany, Hungary, Poland, Romania, and USSR, establishing the Banach Center. Later on, the Academies of Sciences of Vietnam (1979), Cuba (1984) and North Korea (1986) joined the agreement.

The building of the Banach Center (January 1972 - June 2001)

From the very beginning, the Banach Center was part of the Institute of Mathematics of the Polish Academy of Sciences. The aim of the Center has always been promotion and stimulation of international co-operation in mathematics, especially between the East and West. In the '70s and '80s, the contacts between the East and West constantly gained in importance, and Poland, with its geographic location, cultural and mathematical traditions, served as a natural meeting place.

During the first 20 years of its existence (1972-1992), under the leadership of Professor Czesław Olech, the Banach Center gained world-wide recognition as a center of collaboration of mathematicians from all over the world.

Next 10 years (1993-2002) Professor Bogdan Bojarski has been the Director of the Banach Center. In this period the agreement of the Academies was terminated (1993), but new prespectives to the activities of the Center were open based on the cooperation with the European Mathematical Society. New forms of activity are continually added, including condensed workshops and symposia, conference, and research groups in addition to the existing form of semesters. Special emphasis is laid on the interaction of different fields of mathematics and interdisciplinary meetings.

Since 2002 Professor Stanisław Janeczko, the Director of the Institute of Mathematics of the Polish Academy of Sciences has been the Director of the Banach Center and professor Łukasz Stettner has been the acting Deputy Director responsible for activities of the Center.

During 1972-1993, the Scientific Council of the Banach Center consisted of two representatives of each signatory academy of sciences plus the Director of the Center. The Council determines the scientific program of the Center. Since 1993, the Council has had three representatives from the EMS, three representatives from the founding countries and four representatives from Poland.

Former Chairmen of the Scientific Council (1972-2002)

  1. Lubomir Iliev (Bulgaria) 1972-1976
  2. Ákos Császár (Hungary) 1977-1980
  3. Klaus Matthes (East Germany)1981-1982
  4. Kazimierz Urbanik (Poland) 1983-1986
  5. Romulus Cristescu (Romania) 1987-1989
  6. Sergeĭ M. Nikol'skiĭ (USRR) 1990-1992
  7. Friedrich Hirzebruch (Germany) 1993-2002

Scientific Council for the 2002–2005 term

Scientific Council for the 1998–2001 term

Scientific Council for the 1993-1997 term

Members of the Scientific Council (1972-1992)

Bulgaria: R. Denchev, B. Dymitrov, M. Gavrilov, L. G. Iliev, P. Kenderov, A. N. Mateev, G. Skordev
Cuba: L. Alvarez, G. Lopez, I. R. Shulcloper
Czechoslovakia: A. Kufner, L. Mišik, J. Novák, A. Pázman, S. Schwabik
East Germany: F. Kuhnert, K. Matthes
Hungary: M. Arató, Á. Császár, E. T. Szmidt
North Korea: Ho Gon
Poland: Z. Ciesielski, C. Olech, W. Orlicz, K. Urbanik
Romania: D. Burghelea, R. Cristescu, G. C. Moisil, T. Postelnicu, E. Radu
USSR: S. M. Nikol'skiĭ, S. V. Yablonskiĭ
Vietnam: Phan Dinh Dieu, Hoang Tuy, Pham Huu Sach