Stochastic Networks and Related Topics III

Stochastic Networks and Related Topics III

22 – 27 May, 2011, Będlewo

The research area of stochastic networks takes its origins in the analysis of models describing the behavior of systems that require the customers to wait. Started off with the classical queueing theory, nowadays this field of research is strongly stimulated by problems arising in modern communication networks such as internet networks, mobile telephony, local area networks, wireless networks etc. The variety of open questions, that emerge from modeling of new network structures, enforces the current research to lie at the interface between such areas as extreme value theory, fluctuation theory, stochastic geometry, random walks on graphs, large deviations, stochastic simulations etc. This makes the theory of stochastic networks especially interesting for applied and theoretical probability.

The proposed workshop aims at:

  • searching for new trends in this field and at overviewing new probabilistic techniques useful for modeling stochastic networks.
  • bringing together leading researchers from different fields of applied probability that are utilized for models analyzed in the area of stochastic networks

Organizing Committee

  • Prof. Krzysztof Dębicki - chairman
  • Prof. Zbigniew Palmowski
  • Prof. Tomasz Rolski
  • Prof. Ryszard Szekli

Scientific Committee

  • Prof. Soeren Asmussen, Dep. Of Math. Sciences, Aarhus University, Denmark
  • Prof. Francois Baccelli, Inria, Ens Dép. D'informatique, Paris, France
  • Prof. Onno Boxma, Tu Eindhoven, Eurandom, The Netherlands
  • Prof. Tomasz Rolski
  • Prof. Serguei Foss, Heriot-watt University, Great Britain
  • Prof. Guenter Last, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
  • Prof. Tomasz Rolski, University Of Wrocław, Poland



  • Venkat Anantharam, University of California, Berkeley
  • Marek Arendarczyk, University of Wrocław
  • Søren Asmussen, Aarhus University
  • Bojan Basrak, Department of Mathematics, University of Zagreb
  • Erik Baurdoux, London School of Economics
  • Jose Blanchet, Columbia University
  • Sem Borst, Eindhoven University of Technology & Alcatel-Lucent Bell Labs
  • Onno Boxma, Eindhoven University of Technology
  • Bartłomiej Błaszczyszyn, INRIA/ENS
  • Irmina Czarna, University of Wroclaw
  • Hans Daduna, University of Hamburg, Department of Mathematics
  • Daryl Daley, The University of Melbourne
  • Krzysztof Dębicki, University of Wrocław
  • Christian Hirsch, Ulm University
  • Jevgenij Ivanovs, EURANDOM, TU/e
  • Offer Kella, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
  • Takis Konstantopoulos, Uppsala University
  • Kamil Kosiński, EURANDOM
  • Łukasz Kruk, Maria Curie-Skłodowska University, Lublin, Poland
  • Günter Last, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
  • Ronnie Loeffen, Weierstrass Institute, Berlin
  • Stephane Loisel, ISFA, Université Lyon 1
  • Paweł Lorek, University of Wrocław
  • Michel Mandjes , University of Amsterdam
  • Zbigniew Michna, Department of Mathematics and Cybernetics Wroclaw University of Economics
  • Masakiyo Miyazawa, Tokyo University of Science
  • Ilya Molchanov, University of Bern
  • Ilkka Norros , VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland
  • Zbigniew Palmowski, University of Wrocław
  • Mathew Penrose, University of Bath
  • Martijn Pistorius, Imperial College London
  • Tomasz Rolski, University of Wrocław
  • Justin Salez, INRIA and Ecole Normale Superieure
  • Gennady Samorodnitsky, Cornell University
  • Volker Schmidt, Ulm University
  • Przemysław Świątek, University of Wrocław
  • Ryszard Szekli, University of Wrocław
  • Kamil Tabiś, University of Wrocław, Poland
  • Peter Taylor, University of Melbourne
  • Maria Vlasiou, Eindhoven University of Technology
  • Bert Zwart, CWI