VII Hurwicz Workshop

07.12.2018 - 08.12.2018 | Warsaw

VII Hurwicz Workshop on Mechanism Design Theory

 The 2018 HLeonid Hurwicz (2005); photo: Dong Oh, University of Minnesota, Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.urwicz Workshop on Mechanism Design Theory is a continuation of the initiative started in 2009 of holding an annual confernce to honour the 2007 Nobel Prize Laureate in Economics, professor Leonid Hurwicz.  Leonid Hurwicz lived in Warsaw until 1938 and studied at the University of Warsaw. He frequently visited Poland in 1990's. In 1994 he obtained the Doctor Honoris Causa of Warsaw School of Economics. A special plaque commemorates his contacts with Warsaw School of Economics. Hurwicz is often credited with introducing rigorous mathematical approach to economic analysis. He received the Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences in 2007 for his fundamental contributions to the theory of the design of economic mechanisms. Theory of mechanism design relies heavily on mathematical methods of functional analysis, differential equations, differential topology, dynamical systems, etc. Hurwicz has made important contributions to mathematics as well as economics, in particular, to non-linear programming.

The aim of the 2018 Hurwicz Workshop is to bring together scholars from Poland and abroad who specialize in mathematical approach to economic theory, including, but not necessarily confined to the mechanism design theory. The Workshop has an interdisciplinary focus. Topics ranging from issues in economic theory, game theory, social choice, mathematical economics, algorithmic game theory, and computational social choice are welcome.

The 2018 Hurwicz Memorial Lecture will be presented by Professor Fernando Vega-Redondo from the Department of Decision Sciences, Bocconi University, Italy. The visit of prof. Vega-Redondo is financed by Department of Quantitative Economics, Warsaw School of Economics.

Past Hurwicz Memorial Lectures were presented by: Stefan Rolewicz (PAN) in 2009, Eric Maskin (Harvard) in 2010, Roger Myerson (Chicago) in 2011, Ramon Marimon (EUI Florence) in 2012, Martin Hellwig (Max Planck Institute) in 2014, and Walter Trockel (Bielefeld University) in 2016.


We are pleased to announce that there will be a limited number of rooms  at the Institute of Mathematics, PAS, available at reduced rates for participants from outside Warsaw.


Abstract submission

In case of problems with submitting your abstract via this website, please send it directly by e-mail to m.dziubinski(at)mimuw.edu.pl


Institute of Mathematics PASBanach Center Institute of Mathematics PASSGH Warsaw School of EconomicsFaculty of Mathematics, Informatics and Mechanics, University of Warsaw

Rewrite code from the image

Reload image

Reload image