Dynamics, measures and dimensions

07.04.2019 - 12.04.2019 | Będlewo

The conference is going to be a meeting of mathematicians working in a wide area of dynamical systems on the border of ergodic theory and holomorphic dynamics. In particular, thermodynamical formalism and existence of equilibrium measures is used to understand local structure of the underlying space via expanding dynamics magnifying small pieces to a large scale.

The conference aims to continue the tradition of U.S.-Polish collaboration in dynamical systems and neighboring areas, as it will allow the fostering of face-to-face collaborations that might not occur as readily otherwise. Topics will encompass wide but nevertheless intertwined spectrum of fields such as fundamentals of holomorphic dynamics, iteration of transcendental entire and meromorphic functions, fractal sets, iterated function systems, random dynamical systems, infinite ergodic theory and parabolic systems, diophantine approximations and shrinking targets, Kleinian groups and circle packings, open dynamical systems, orbit counting, scenery flow and geometry of measures, topics in holomorphic dynamics in several complex variables, statistical physics, gas lattices, potential theory, number theory and topology.

The conference will also be the opportunity to honour the career of Professor Mariusz Urbański who has made fundamental contributions to all of these topics. The programme of the conference will consist of 50 minute plenary lectures and short talks. The lectures will begin on 8th April (Monday) in the morning and will end on 12th April (Friday) before lunch (around 1 p.m.). 

Before the conference, we will organize a short school for beginners. The minicourses will be given by Mark Pollicott (University of Warwick), Károly Simon (Budapest University of Technology and Economics) and Giulio Tiozzo (University of Toronto). The lectures will start on 6th April (Saturday) in the afternoon. The detailed programme of the school is available here.

Invited speakers include:

Balázs Bárány (Budapest University of Technology and Economics) Pertti Mattila (University of Helsinki)
Walter Bergweiler (Kiel University) Volker Mayer (Université Lille 1)
François Berteloot (Université Toulouse III-Paul Sabatier) Ian Melbourne (University of Warwick)
Katrin Gelfert (UFRJ)
Eugen Mihailescu (Romanian Academy of Sciences)
Jacek Graczyk (Université Paris-Sud)
Kevin Pilgrim (Indiana University)
Peter Haïssinsky (Université d'Aix-Marseille)
Michał Rams (Polish Academy of Sciences)
Nicolai Haydn (University of Southern California)
Juan Rivera-Letelier (University of Rochester)
Oliver Jenkinson (Queen Mary, University of London)
Károly Simon (Budapest University of Technology and Economics)
Bogusława Karpińska (Warsaw University of Technology)
Gwyneth Stallard (The Open University)
Antti Käenmäki (University of Helsinki) Grzegorz Świątek (Warsaw University of Technology)
Genadi Levin (Hebrew University of Jerusalem) Mike Todd (University of St Andrews)


Most of the speakers have confirmed their participation in the conference.

The Scientific and Organizing Committees include the following persons:

Jon Aaronson (Tel Aviv University) Janina Kotus (Warsaw University of Technology)
Vasileios Chousionis (University of Connecticut) Mark Pollicott (University of Warwick)
Manfred Denker (Penn State University) Feliks Przytycki (Polish Academy of Sciences)
Artem Dudko (Polish Academy of Sciences) Sanju Velani (The University of York)
Kenneth Falconer (University of St Andrews)
Anna Zdunik (University of Warsaw)
Lior Fishman (University of North Texas)
Michel Zinsmeister (Université d'Orléans)
Piotr Gałązka (Warsaw University of Technology)


Several members of the Committees will also give a talk.

Deadline for registration was 25th February. Registration is open only for invited participants. Any other persons who would like to take part in the school/conference are asked to contact us by e-mail.

Conference e-mail: 19-dynamics@impan.pl

Institute of Mathematics of the Polish Academy of Sciences   Polish Academy of Sciences   Banach Center   SGH Warsaw School of Economics   National Science Foundation

Rewrite code from the image

Reload image

Reload image