IX INTERNATIONAL MEETING ON LORENTZIAN GEOMETRY

Institute of Mathematics, Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw (Poland), 17 – 24 June 2018







FIRST ANNOUNCEMENT

Sponsors

The conference is partially supported by the Banach Center, the Faculty of Physics of the University of Warsaw and the Center for Theoretical Physics of the Polish Academy of Sciences.

Aims and scope

Lorentzian Geometry is a branch of Differential Geometry with roots in General Relativity and ramifications in many mathematical areas: Geometric Analysis, Functional Analysis, Partial Differential Equations, Lie groups and algebras... Several groups researching on this topic throughout the world have maintained a regular series on international meetings celebrated every two years in Spain, Italy, Brazil and Germany.

The edition to be held at the Banach Center will cover topics on pure and applied Lorentzian Geometry such as geometry of spacetimes, solitons, black holes, Einstein equations, geodesics or submanifolds. Poland is a perfect place for our conference, due to the existence of a very strong General Relativity groups, with many people working in Mathematical Relativity. Some of them (Bizon, Jezierski, Kijowski, Nurowski) are organizers of the conference, members of the Scientific Committee, or speakers, while other Polish relativists have expressed their interest in the participation in the meeting.

Information on the previous editions can be found at http://gigda.ugr.es/geloma.

Program of the conference

The program includes 6 days of lectures (Monday to Saturday noon) with two invited

talks of 45 minutes per day. Professor Paul Tod will deliver a 5-hour long minicourse. Confirmed **invited speakers** are:

- Paul Tod (minicourse speaker) (University of Oxford)
- Luis J. Alías (Universidad de Murcia)
- Miguel Brozos-Vázquez (Universidade da Coruña)
- Erasmo Caponio (Politecnico di Bari)
- Piotr T. Chruściel (Universität Wien)
- Wolfgang Globke (University of Adelaide)
- Philippe G. LeFloch (Sorbonne Université, Paris)
- Jerzy Kijowski (Center for Theoretical Physics PAS)
- Vicent Pecastaing (Université du Luxembourg)
- Stefan Suhr (Ruhr-Universität Bochum)
- Robert Wald (University of Chicago)

There will also be a limited number of **contributed talks** and a **poster session**. The participants are kindly asked to send us the title of the proposed contributed talks (or posters) with a short abstract not later than **April 12, 2018**. The contributed talks and posters will be selected by the Scientific Committee within April 30, 2018.

Conference venue and accommodation

The conference will take place at the Institute of Mathematics of the Polish Academy of Sciences in Warsaw, Poland. The Institute is located in the city center.

Invited speakers will be accommodated in the guest rooms of the Institute. Other participants are kindly requested to find lodging on their own. In case any assistance is needed, please contact Paweł Nurowski at nurowski@fuw.edu.pl.

Registration

Participants are kindly asked to use the registration form on the conference web page. The **deadline** for the first round of registration is **May 31, 2018**. Late registration (after the deadline) will be possible only in case of free places.

Conference fee

Participation in the conference is **free of charge**. The participants are kindly requested to cover their travel and lodging expenses from their own sources.

Additional information

More information about the conference can be found on the web page https://www.impan.pl/18-lorentzian9. The Conference program and schedule, list of participants, and other useful information will appear there as soon as available.

In case of any questions feel free to contact the Organising Committee using the e-mail address lorentzian9@impan.pl or the direct addresses of its members.

Scientific Committee

- Piotr Bizon (Jagiellonian University)
- Anna Maria Candela (Università di Bari Aldo Moro)
- Vicente Cortés (Universität Hamburg)
- Eduardo García-Río (Universidade de Santiago de Compostela)
- Miguel Ángel Javaloyes (Universidad de Murcia)
- Jerzy Kijowski (Center for Theoretical Physics Polish Academy of Sciences)
- Thomas Leistner (University of Adelaide)
- Jorge H. de Lira (Universidade Federal do Ceará)
- Miguel Sánchez (Universidad de Granada)
- Abdelghani Zeghib (Ecole Normale Supérieure de Lyon)

Organizing Committee

- Paweł Nurowski (nurowski@fuw.edu.pl)
- Jacek Jezierski (Jacek.Jezierski@fuw.edu.pl)
- Michał Jóźwikowski (mjoz@impan.pl)