24JUL 2023

Prof. Przemysław Wojtaszczyk laureate of the Stefan Banach Medal

We are pleased to announce that the 2023 laureate of the Stefan Banach Medal is Prof. Przemysław Wojtaszczyk.

The medal, established in 1992 on the 100th anniversary of Stefan Banach's birth, is awarded by the Presidium of the Polish Academy of Sciences. The laureates have made outstanding contributions to the development of the mathematical sciences.

Prof. Wojtaszczyk is the author of several groundbreaking results and innovative approaches concerning analysis and its applications. He has solved many well-known open problems and created new tools that have entered the canon of modern analysis. He is the author of 96 publications cited approximately 2,000 times, winner of the S. Banach PTM Grand Prize in 1979, and winner of the FNP "Champion" program in 2003.

Prof. Wojtaszczyk has been working at IM PAN since 1972. He obtained his doctoral degree in 1973 and his habilitation degree in 1977, both at IM PAN. He was awarded the title of professor in 1986 and is a long-standing member of the Scientific Council of the Institute of Mathematics of the Polish Academy of Sciences.

Rewrite code from the image

Reload image

Reload image